top of page
Manufacturing Pin.gif
Manufacturing Pin.gif
Manufacturing Pin.gif

Manufacturing

From fiber to yarn

If you not only expect best quality, but also would like to know where our yarns come from and how they have been manufactured, take a look at our yarn processing. There are no secrets from the origin in Kyrgyzstan to the final product in your hands.

Goats_edited.jpg
Bakit Shepherd.jpg

1. Animal husbandry - KYRGYZSTAN

Half-way between the east and the west along the legendary silk road lies a land of majestic mountains and nomadic shepherd communities – Kyrgyzstan. Daily life in this remote and relatively untouched region of the world is not for the faint of heart. In brilliant adaptation to winter above 10,000 feet, the indigenous cashmere goats have developed their soft, exceptionally warm and silky downy undercoat, otherwise known as cashmere – soft gold.


Although these goats have long produced fiber capable of competing on the world market, until recently Kyrgyz shepherds had virtually no access to international buyers offering fair market value. We are committed to changing this situation so that their cashmere has an honored identity as one of the world’s finest fibers. It is our passion to contribute that Kyrgyz cashmere can be an engine for social and economic transformation.

 

The farmers from whom we source our cashmere, mainly live in the districts At-Bashi and Kochkor in the province of Naryn, as well as in the districts of Alay und Chong-Alay in the province of Osh.

Get to know some of the farmers who provide the natural fibers for our yarns..

2. raw cashmere collection and treatment - Kyrgyzstan

Since 2021, we closely cooperate with the Kyrgyz company Kyrgyz Cashmere LLC, managed by Sy Belohlavek and his team, for collecting the raw cashmere from the farmers. Together with them, we inform shepherds about how to properly collect and sort their fiber by quality grades and have established a tiered payment system in which we pay shepherds fair market value and more for their cashmere fiber.

 

The years of diligent investment among these communities have resulted in access to high-quality raw cashmere. We travel village-to-village and house-to-house purchasing cashmere that the shepherds have gently hand-combed from each goat. These personal transactions ensure that top quality fiber is being gathered and that the shepherds receive fair compensation for their superb fiber.

 

The material is then brought to Bishkek, the fibers are pre-cleaned and sorted according to various quality requirements. This way, we assure that we process only the best quality. Raw fibers that cannot comply with the quality standards for our products are re-sold to local traders, who further trade the fibers with clients and processors in China.

Combing.jpg
Purchase Moment.jpg
Traitex05.jpg

3. Scouring - Kyrgyzstan

In order to generate as much value as possible in-country in Kyrgyzstan and thus sustain local employment, our raw cashmere is washed – using detergent from Europe – by the company Enesay Group LTD located in the outskirts of Bishkek (see map). We are proud to be able to make this important processing step in Kyrgyzstan, particularly because we support another enterprise in Kyrgyzstan and are able to provide them with detergents that comply with European standards. This way we can contribute to the efforts of this important local textile company to provide textile value-added services within the context of Kyrgyzstan amidst challenging competitive dynamics with China.

4. dehairing - Kyrgyzstan

In the Kyrgyz capital of Bishkek, in the free economic Zone «Bishkek» Kyrgyz Cashmere LLC has managed to establish a full scale dehairing line with the support of Cashmere Fibers International Ltd. Since 2010 Kyrgyz Cashmere LLC started piloting and working on various forms of establishing local processing options of cashmere within the country. These efforts finally brought fruit in 2021 and allow pre-processing our cashmere entirely in Kyrgyzstan and then shipping it directly for spinning in Europe. This might seem a small step, but it is big leap for the cashmere industry in Kyrgyzstan.

 

For us, Kyrgyz Cashmere LLC is the ideal partner – we share the same values and through them, we assure staying closely involved socially and economically in Kyrgyzstan.

Dehaired.jpg
spinning01.jpg

5. Spinning - United Kingdom

The Spinning Mill R. Gledhill is located in the small town of Delph in the northeastern part of Manchester. Gledhill was founded in 1936 from a merger with Pingle Mill; textile manufacturing has been carried out at Pingle Mill since 1777. Since its foundation, the capacity of Gledhill has been constantly increased whilst maintaining its versatility, allowing the production of a varied selection of woolen yarns. This is even more noteworthy in context of the economic challenges of the English textile industry overall. The family company is managed in fourth generation, and we are happy to rely on the knowledge, experience, and modern spinning machinery of Gledhill.

6. Dyeing - United Kingdom

Ettrick Yarn Dyers Ltd. was founded in 2000 to continue a modern dyeing unit operated by Laidlaw & Fairgrieve, a well-known company which operated in Scotland. The objective was to retain the expertise of the personnel, which is one of the most experienced dyeing teams in the Scottish Textiles industry. The Company continues to occupy the same dyer’s woodruff expertise and has undertaken an extensive upgrading program since becoming independent in 2000. The fusion of tradition and modernity, and the specific knowledge and expertise of its staff allows Ettrick Yarn Dyers to offer specialized dyeing services for high quality fine fiber yarns.

Ettrick dyies according to the EC Reach Regulation.

Dyeing03.jpg
bottom of page

top of page
Herstellung Pin.gif
Herstellung Pin.gif
Herstellung Pin.gif

Herstellung

vom Rohkaschmir zum Garn

Sie wünschen sich als verantwortungsbewusster Kunde nicht nur die beste Qualität, sondern auch Transparenz hinsichtlich der Herkunft der Ware? Wir sind ganz Ihrer Meinung und zeigen nachfolgend gerne detailliert auf, in welchen exakten Schritten unsere edlen Garne entstehen. Keine Geheimnisse von der Faser bis zum Garn.

Goats_edited.jpg
Bakit Shepherd.jpg

1. Herdenhaltung - Kirgisistan

Auf halbem Weg zwischen Ost und West entlang der legendären Seidenstrasse liegt ein Land mit majestätischen Bergen und nomadischen Hirtengemeinschaften - Kirgisistan. Das tägliche Leben in dieser abgelegenen und relativ unberührten Region der Welt ist herausfordernd und nichts für schwache Nerven. Die einheimischen Kaschmirziegen haben sich in hervorragender Weise an den Winter in 3000m Höhe angepasst. So entwickelten sie ihr weiches, aussergewöhnlich warmes und leichtes Unterfell, das auch als Kaschmir - das weiche Gold - bekannt ist.

 

Obwohl diese Ziegen seit langem Fasern produzieren, die auf dem Weltmarkt konkurrenzfähig sind, hatten die kirgisischen Hirten bis vor kurzem praktisch keinen Zugang zu internationalen Käufern, die einen fairen Marktwert bieten. Wir setzen uns dafür ein, diese Situation zu ändern, damit das Kaschmir Kirgisistans eine anerkannte Reputation als eine der besten Fasern der Welt erhält. Wir sind davon überzeugt, dass kirgisisches Kaschmir ein Motor für soziale und wirtschaftliche Veränderungen sein kann.
 

Die Bauern, von denen wir unser Kaschmir beziehen, leben hauptsächlich in den Bezirken At-Bashi und Kochkor in der Provinz Naryn sowie in den Bezirken Alay und Chong-Alay in der Provinz Osh.

Lernen Sie einige der Bauern kennen, welche die Rohwolle für unser Garn liefern!

2. KAUF UND AUFBEREITUNG ROHKASCHMIR – KIRGISISTAN

Seit 2021 arbeiten wir bei der Sammlung des Rohkaschmirs von den Bauern eng mit dem kirgisischen Unternehmen Kyrgyz Cashmere LLC zusammen, das von Sy Belohlavek und seinem Team geleitet wird. Gemeinsam mit ihnen informieren wir die Hirten darüber, wie sie ihre Fasern ordnungsgemäss sammeln und nach Qualitätsklassen sortieren können, und haben ein gestaffeltes Zahlungssystem eingeführt, bei dem wir den Hirten den fairen Marktwert und mehr für ihre Kaschmirfasern zahlen.

Die jahrelangen, sorgfältigen Investitionen in diese Gemeinschaften haben dazu geführt, dass wir Zugang zu hochwertigem Rohkaschmir haben. Wir reisen von Dorf zu Dorf und von Haus zu Haus und kaufen das Kaschmir, das die Hirten von jeder Ziege schonend von Hand gekämmt haben. Durch diese persönlichen Transaktionen wird sichergestellt, dass die Fasern von höchster Qualität sind und dass die Hirten eine faire Entlohnung für ihre erstklassigen Fasern erhalten.

 

Das Material wird dann nach Bischkek gebracht, die Fasern werden vorgereinigt und nach verschiedenen Qualitätsanforderungen sortiert. Auf diese Weise stellen wir sicher, dass wir nur die beste Qualität verarbeiten. Rohfasern, die den Qualitätsstandards für unsere Produkte nicht entsprechen, werden an lokale Händler weiterverkauft, die die Fasern an Kunden und Verarbeiter in China weiterverkaufen.

Combing.jpg
Purchase Moment.jpg
Traitex05.jpg

3. Waschen / Scouring - Kirgisistan

Um eine möglichst hohe Wertschöpfung in Kirgisistan zu erzielen und damit Arbeitsplätze vor Ort zu unterstützen, wird unser Rohkaschmir – mit Waschmitteln aus Europa – von der Firma Enesay Group LTD am Stadtrand von Bischkek gewaschen (siehe Karte). Wir sind stolz darauf, diesen wichtigen Verarbeitungsschritt in Kirgisistan durchführen zu können, zumal wir ein weiteres Unternehmen in Kirgisistan unterstützen und mit Waschmitteln versorgen können, die den europäischen Standards entsprechen. Auf diese Weise können wir einen Beitrag zu den Bemühungen dieses wichtigen lokalen Textilunternehmens leisten, in Kirgisistan inmitten einer schwierigen Wettbewerbsdynamik mit China textilen Mehrwert anzubieten.

4. Entgrannen - KIRGISISTAN

In der kirgisischen Hauptstadt Bischkek in der freien Wirtschaftszone «Bischkek» ist es Kyrgyz Cashmere LLC gelungen, mit Unterstützung von Cashmere Fibers International Ltd. eine vollwertige Enthaarungsanlage zu errichten. Seit 2010 hat Kyrgyz Cashmere LLC begonnen, verschiedene Formen der lokalen Verarbeitung von Kaschmir im Land zu erproben. Diese Bemühungen trugen schliesslich 2021 Früchte und ermöglichen es, unser Kaschmir vollständig in Kirgisistan vorzuverarbeiten und es dann direkt zum Spinnen nach Europa zu verschiffen. Dies mag wie ein kleiner Schritt erscheinen, ist aber ein grosser Sprung für die Kaschmirindustrie in Kirgisistan.
 

Für uns ist Kyrgyz Cashmere LLC der ideale Partner, da wir dieselben Werte teilen und durch Sy Belohlavek und sein Team sicherstellen können, dass wir in Kirgisistan sozial und wirtschaftlich eng eingebunden bleiben.

Dehaired.jpg
spinning01.jpg

5. Spinnen - Grossbritannien

Die Spinnerei R. Gledhill liegt im beschaulichen Delph nordöstlich von Manchester. Gledhill wurde 1936 aus einem Zusammenschluss mit der Spinnerei Pingle Mill, welche eine über 250jährige Geschichte aufwies, als eigenständige Wollspinnerei und Färberei gegründet. Über die letzten 70 Jahre ist Gledhill ständig gewachsen, was angesichts des schwierigen wirtschaftlichen Umfelds der englischen Textilindustrie umso bemerkenswerter ist. Das Familienunternehmen wird mittlerweile in vierter Generation geführt und wir sind glücklich, auf das Fachwissen und auf die moderne Infrastruktur von Gledhill zählen zu können.

6. Färben - Grossbritannien

Die Ettrick Yarn Dyers Ltd. wurde 2000 gegründet, um die modernen Färbesysteme der Laidlaw & Fairgrieve, einem bekannten Unternehmen an der schottischen Grenze, zu übernehmen. Ebenso war das Ziel, das Know-how eines der erfahrensten Teams in der schottischen Textilindustrie im Bereich des Färbens zu erhalten. Das Unternehmen baut weiterhin auf die Erfahrung dieser Färbmeister und hat parallel ein umfangreiches Modernisierungsprogramm durchgeführt. Die breiten Kenntnisse und Erfahrungen des Teams ermöglichen es, Färbedienstleistungen für qualitativ höchstwertige Garne anzubieten, alles gemäss den Standards der EU REACH Verordnung.

Dyeing03.jpg
bottom of page